A True Pizza surprise: Yaale Bakery

IMG_3526

Now when you google “Good Pizza Beit Shemesh”, you don’t get very many results, in fact you get none. But there is indeed a little gem of a pizza place in the heart of Ramat Beit Shemesh. Knowing I was going to be in the area for lunch, I sent out a message to my friends on facebook asking for advice. Yonah, a friend who has lived in RBS, reminded me about Yaale Bakery pizza. Now Yaale is a chain across the country that in my opinion make subpar bakery food, and in my area bad pizza. But I know that it has been good in the past, I wondered what it would be like compared to the other pizza I will taste over the next month.

And I was pleasantly surprised, the pizza on Israeli standards was not bad in fact I would go so far as to say pretty good. The dough was fluffy yet had that elastic that made it real pizza dough. The sauce was bold but not over powering, and the cheese although the typical yellow variety was plentiful. More importantly the pizza was well cooked; the bottom was brown and crispy, while the cheese was not hard.

The secret here is the pizza maker, a tall bald Israeli, who makes the pizza in front of your face. Amply and eavenly speading the sauce and cheese. He really looks like he is actually taking his time and making an effort to make a good pizza. In this case his pizza really is better than “Government Work”.

If any Italian was to eat this pizza, the might spit it out. But for Israeli pizza it is very good, especially in RBS a desert of good food.

If you agree or  disagree or wanna talk about food in Israel comment below.

Comments are closed.